Healthcare / DOCUMENTED CSV

FDA Orange Book Product, Patent & Exclusivity Reference

Assemble drug-product research tables with FDA approval dates, therapeutic-equivalence codes, and related patent and exclusivity records. Prepared keys, code definitions and documented joins are included.

Fixed ACD source capture: October 16, 2026 · FDA coverage cutoff not stated

48,865FDA application/product keys
22main-table fields
22,438patent listing records
2,347distinct exclusivity records

01 / KNOW THE FIT

A useful join starts
with a clear meaning.

What you can do with it

Add product names, ingredients, strengths and approval information to an application-coded research portfolio. Inspect related patent-use and exclusivity definitions without manually combining FDA files.

What one row means

One main-table row identifies an Orange Book application type, application number and product number. Separate tables preserve the many patent, exclusivity and therapeutic-equivalence-code relationships.

Unique key
product_key

How to join it

Join on product_key, such as N202155-001, or its three text components. Count or summarize patents and exclusivities separately before combining them; joining both detail tables directly multiplies rows. No NDC linkage is supplied.

Join Orange Book products, patents and exclusivities in Python →

Coverage, with the edges visible

48,865 products across 27,428 applications, including RX, OTC and DISCN categories. 2,677 products have listed patent records; 1,226 have exclusivity records. All 73,724 original bulk rows are accounted for. Exact duplicate exclusivity rows are represented with occurrence counts.

Keep in mind

  • A captured analytical snapshot, not a complete approval-action history or current-stock lookup. Orange Book scope is narrower than all FDA-regulated drugs.
  • Therapeutic-equivalence codes alone do not establish that two products are interchangeable. Not for medical care decisions.
  • Patent and exclusivity dates are listed source values, not legal clearance or predicted generic launch dates.
  • No source coverage cutoff is stated. ZIP member timestamps and capture dates are recorded separately.
WHAT MAKES IT ACTUALLY CLEAN

Text identifiers keep leading zeros. Dates are parsed without inventing days for pre-1982 approvals. Every relationship retains its source rows; 74 exact duplicate exclusivity rows are explicitly accounted for. All used patent-use and exclusivity codes have FDA definitions. How we prepare and version our data →

02 / TRY THE SHAPE

Real rows. Before you buy.

These are the first three rows from the delivered CSV, showing 6 of 22 fields. The free download contains the first five rows and all 22 fields; it is a format sample, not a coverage test.

FDA Orange Book Product, Patent & Exclusivity Reference · first three rows
product_keytrade_namestrengthapproval_dateapproval_date_statuspatent_listing_count
A018659-001ALLOPURINOL100MG1986-10-24exact_date0
A018659-002ALLOPURINOL300MG1986-10-24exact_date0
A020345-001AMINOSYN-HF 8%8% (8GM/100ML)1996-04-04exact_date0

03 / NO GUESSING

Main table fields, explained.

The main table’s field dictionary from the current download. CSV has no built-in types; these are the intended import types.

All 22 fields in CSV order
FieldTypeMeaning
product_keytextACD join key: source application type + six-digit application number + hyphen + three-digit product number; e.g. N202155-001. Not an NDC.
application_typetextOriginal N (NDA) or A (ANDA); import as text.
application_numbertextOriginal six-digit FDA application number; preserve leading zeros.
product_numbertextOriginal three-digit product number within its application; preserve leading zeros.
ingredienttextOriginal ingredient text with only outer whitespace trimmed; combinations remain a single semicolon-separated source string.
trade_nametextSource trade/product name; not a unique identifier.
dosage_formtextText before the single semicolon in source DF;Route; outer whitespace trimmed.
routetextText after the semicolon in source DF;Route; may describe multiple routes; not exploded.
strengthtextSource strength text; units and multi-part expressions are preserved without numeric conversion.
applicanttextSource abbreviated application-holder name; not a distributor or repackager.
applicant_full_nametextSource full application-holder name.
te_codestextOriginal comma-separated therapeutic-equivalence codes; blank means no code supplied. Equality of codes alone does not establish interchangeability.
approval_datetextISO YYYY-MM-DD only when source supplies an exact date; otherwise blank. Read approval_date_status and source_approval_date.
approval_date_statustextexact_date, before_1982, or missing. before_1982 means strictly earlier than 1982-01-01, not that date.
source_approval_datetextOriginal approval-date text with outer whitespace trimmed.
reference_listed_drugtexttrue/false from source Yes/No RLD flag; indicates FDA reference-listed-drug designation.
reference_standardtexttrue/false from source Yes/No RS flag; distinct from RLD.
marketing_statustextSource RX, OTC, or DISCN category. DISCN has several meanings and is not evidence of withdrawal for safety reasons; RX/OTC does not guarantee current availability.
patent_listing_countintegerCount of distinct retained patent listing rows for this product, including separate use codes and pediatric-extension entries. Not a count of unique patent numbers.
distinct_patent_number_countintegerCount of distinct original Patent_No strings for this product; *PED suffixes are preserved as separate source strings.
exclusivity_record_countintegerCount of distinct exclusivity records for this product after exact-duplicate accounting.
source_rowtextOne-based data row in retained products.txt, excluding the header.

04 / INSIDE THE DOWNLOAD

Data, with its context.

One ZIP · 5.0 MB · 18 files. No account or subscription required.

05 / DATES THAT MEAN SOMETHING

Sources, versions & changes.

Source versions identify the inputs. Our processing revision describes how we prepare them. Either kind of change creates a new ACD release; the package date records when it was built.

Current source versions

Purchased source edition
ACD capture 2026-10-16
Primary ZIP member dates
2026-10-09 (file metadata; not coverage cutoff)
FDA release / coverage cutoff
Not stated in the retained files
Code-definition capture
2026-10-16; separate FDA lookup pages
ACD processing revision
1 · related tables, explicit duplicates and partial dates
Package prepared (UTC)

Source: U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Independent preparation by Actually Clean Data; no FDA endorsement.

RELEASE HISTORY

Oct 16, 2026 · current package (UTC)

First paid ACD Orange Book release. Six related/accounting CSVs, field dictionaries, a checked Python example, checksums, and retained source/staging/preparation identities. No earlier ACD release is being compared.

Initial release: source scope and preparation

Processing corrections and improvements for your purchased source edition are free. Genuinely new source editions may be sold separately. See the update policy and access instructions.

Check the downloaded CSV’s integrity

The metadata file inside the ZIP records this SHA-256 checksum for orange_book_products.csv. A matching checksum confirms identical CSV bytes.

cf231c660a1d873eb9a07c6fc45cdd2562c25af92b76b54c5b050e5a5306e790

READY TO PUT IT TO WORK?

FDA Orange Book Product, Patent & Exclusivity Reference

$29 USD · one time · 48,865 FDA application/product keys

Get the full dataset